Faculty News

"During the past few decades, the state of neuroscientific mind reading has advanced substantially. Cognitive psychologists armed with an fMRI machine can tell whether a person is having depressive thoughts; they can see which concepts a student has mastered by comparing his brain patterns with those of his teacher. By analyzing brain scans, a computer system can edit together crude reconstructions of movie clips you’ve watched. One research group has used similar technology to accurately...

Susan Fiske was named a winner of the 12th edition of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards in Social Sciences. She received her award at a Sept. 22 ceremony in Spain. The Frontiers of Knowledge Awards are Spain’s version of the ...

Department of Psychology Professor, Joel Cooper, and Graduate Student, Logan Pearce, have discovered an approach that they found successfully motivated people to make appointments for vaccinations and to consistently follow measures such as social distancing and mask wearing.

Molly Crockett will join Princeton’s Department of Psychology and University Center for Human Values in July 2022.

The Department of Psychology will welcome three new Assistant Professors beginning in August 2021.

Princeton faculty members Mitchell Duneier, J. Nicole Shelton, Keith Wailoo, Nieng Yan, and Deborah Yashar, as well as Presidential Visiting Scholar in the Lewis Center for the Arts Hilton Als of The New Yorker have been elected to the Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Griffiths uses computers to determine how we humans make decisions — and how we could do it more efficiently.

The Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SESP) is an international scientific organization dedicated to the advancement of social psychological research.

The Society for Neuroscience (SfN) honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to neuroscience education and training.

Her appointment paves the way for a new era of collaboration between the Department of Music and the Department of Psychology.